ABOUT ME

 

*I was born in 1981 and raised in London, UK.

*I hold a First-class honors degree in History from the University of Manchester and an M.Phil in International Relations from the University of Cambridge, where I was the Abba Eban Scholar at Queens' College. During my undergraduate studies, I spent a semester at the University of Massachussetts in Amherst (USA).

*Throughout my childhood I was active in my youth movement, Noam, and I spent a year working as an education officer. I also spent a year studying at the Conservative Yeshiva in Jerusalem.

*I made aliyah (immigrated to Israel) in 2006, where I spent my first couple of years learning Hebrew and serving in the IDF (in the Home Front Command's External Relations Unit).

*Afterwards, I worked as a fundraiser for the children's charity, Orr Shalom; a Hebrew-English translator; a youth worker in Lod; and a freelance writer for NGOs. In 2012, I embarked on a two year course of study to become a licensed tour-guide; I qualified in 2014.

*I'm one of the co-editors at the Tel Aviv Review of Books.

*I am a keen traveler, and have spent two major periods abroad - in 2011 I spent six months in India, and in 2015 I spent five months in Southeast Asia and China, followed by two months in the Balkans. I have also traveled widely in America and the rest of Europe.

*I am a voracious reader and occasional writer, with a particular love of fiction, history, and travel writing. I'm a big fan of hip-hop music, and I'm a moderately-engaged supporter of Liverpool Football Club (but I'll happily guide supporters of Manchester United).

*I live in Jerusalem with my wife, Merav, who is also a tour-guide! We have two daughters, Eilat and Achinoam.